skip to content

June 2014

Four teachers join Bobcat Company during Teachers in Industry internship program

Bobcat Company is hosting four teachers participating in the Teachers in Industry internship program sponsored by the Greater Fargo-Moorhead Economic Development Corporation (GFMEDC) and North Dakota State University (NDSU). The program runs through June.

The program started in 2011 as a partnership between the GFMEDC, NDSU and West Fargo Public Schools. Bobcat has been involved since 2012 and is helping to extend the program this year to Bismarck, where its primary Product Engineering group is based. This summer, Bobcat will finish construction of the new Acceleration Center there, which will house primary R&D and product testing.

The internship program is designed to help educators develop an understanding of various work disciplines, including 21st century workplace skills; acquire knowledge of the engineering design process (EDP) and how it is used in a design-oriented technological environment; and incorporate company processes into a STEM-based learning lesson plan (STEM is an acronym for Science, Technology, Engineering, Math).

Educators participating from the Fargo area are Erica Murie from Westside Elementary in West Fargo and Alex Yokom, technology education teacher at Carl Ben Eielson Middle School in Fargo. Bismarck area participants are Josh Kitzman from Saxvik Elementary and Margaux Braun, a science teacher at Simle Middle School.

“Bobcat Company is passionate about community involvement and educational support is one of our key focus areas,” said Laura Ness Owens, Bobcat Company director of communication. “So we are excited to expand the Teacher Internship program to our Bismarck site. These internships will provide a great opportunity for teachers to become immersed in the engineering design process. We are introducing a new innovation process which will provide the teachers a deeper understanding of how ideas are generated and evaluated in the workplace. We look forward to helping them inspire their students and build our future engineers.”