Middle East and Africa
North America
Russia & CIS
South and Southeast Asia

Doosan Bobcat North America award STEM scholarships to first, second and third-year NDSU students

Posted: 02/23/2018

(WEST FARGO, N.D. – February 2018) Doosan Bobcat North America and North Dakota State University (NDSU) have announced the 2018 scholarship recipients benefiting from an endowment largely funded by Doosan Bobcat.

The scholarship program expands on Doosan Bobcat’s commitment to support NDSU students who are looking to pursue science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) related professions. In 2015, Doosan Bobcat committed $3 million and the state of North Dakota matched the donation, adding $1.5 million – making the combined gift of $4.5 million the single largest gift to establish a scholarship endowment in NDSU history.

This year’s scholarship distribution will award $2,000 to 12 first-year students. Scholarship recipients and their declared majors are:

  • Drew Asche, Stirum, North Dakota; mechanical engineering
  • Mitchell Dockter, Fargo, North Dakota; electrical engineering
  • Jakob Ebinger, Baxter, Minnesota; civil engineering
  • Armin Ekic, Fargo, North Dakota; computer engineering
  • Garrett Erickson, Northwood, North Dakota; mechanical engineering
  • Katie Gates, Lansford, North Dakota; mechanical engineering
  • Luke Kieffer, Cambridge, Minnesota; civil engineering
  • Graydon Olson, Velva, North Dakota; mechanical engineering
  • Dylan Smith, Jamestown, North Dakota; computer engineering
  • Jayden Trana, Surrey, North Dakota; mechanical engineering
  • Callan Wright, Fargo, North Dakota; mechanical engineering

Doosan Bobcat awarded $2,000 to 17 second-year students. Scholarship recipients and their declared majors are:

  • Jakub Bodziachowski, Tower City, North Dakota; computer science
  • Thomas Cameron Jr., Cambridge, Minnesota; mechanical engineering
  • Joseph Eicher, Saint Michael, Minnesota; electrical engineering
  • Joshua Frelich, Devils Lake, North Dakota; civil engineering
  • Charles Frost, Battle Lake, Minnesota; mechanical engineering
  • Matthew Hansen, Fargo, North Dakota; physics
  • Cole Harmer, Fargo, North Dakota; mechanical engineering
  • Kaitlin Hennen, Blaine, Minnesota; civil engineering
  • Erik Karl, Roseau, Minnesota; industrial engineering and management
  • Jarrett Louwagie, Clarkfield, Minnesota; civil engineering
  • Alex Lundeen, Lino Lakes, Minnesota; mechanical engineering
  • Levi Morlock, Prior Lake, Minnesota; mechanical engineering
  • Michael Murphy, Princeton, Minnesota; mechanical engineering
  • Kyle Nietfeld, Melrose, Minnesota; electrical engineering
  • Connor O’Fallon, Shakopee, Minnesota; statistics
  • Jonah Zimmerman, Hazen, North Dakota; mechanical engineering

In addition, eight third-year students were awarded $2,000 from Doosan Bobcat. Scholarship recipients and their declared majors are:

  • Calvin Aichele, Beulah, North Dakota; agricultural and biosystems engineering
  • Alex Johnson, Circle Pines, Minnesota; mechanical engineering
  • Jackson Kimball, Fargo, North Dakota; computer science
  • Samuel Pasco, Hutchinson, Minnesota; mechanical engineering
  • Makala Simon, Saint Augusta, Minnesota; civil engineering
  • Alexander Tostenson, Perham, Minnesota; mechanical engineering

Support of STEM-related programs, including the NDSU STEM scholarship program, continues to be a key area of focus of Doosan Bobcat. These educational and research areas help generate community growth and fuel innovation, which is the foundation of Doosan Bobcat.

“As STEM-related programs continue to grow, so does our involvement in helping NDSU students reach their full potential,” said Laura Ness Owens, vice president of marketing for Doosan Bobcat North America. “We want to do everything we can to support those who want to pursue STEM-related professions. We can’t wait to see our investments pay off through business and community growth across the region.”